This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
classes [2023-11-05 20:03] – [Paladin] Add note about avoiding party alignment rules poems | classes [2024-12-22 15:53] (current) – external edit 127.0.0.1 | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 13: | Line 13: | ||
Bonus spells are gained as regular clerics.((Reinforced by PHB errata.)) | Bonus spells are gained as regular clerics.((Reinforced by PHB errata.)) | ||
- | Druids keep their current combat ability | + | Effects of druid shape change include those listed on the [[Shape Change]] page, as well as the following: :!: We are not settled on this, this is a WIP. |
+ | |||
+ | * Acquire the creature' | ||
+ | * Keep their HP value (excluding any HP healed from the shape change). They do not adapt the animal' | ||
+ | * Changing back into human form does not count as a use of the ability and does not heal HP. | ||
===== Fighter ===== | ===== Fighter ===== | ||
Line 24: | Line 28: | ||
Rangers who obtain magic-user spellcasting ability obtain and use [[spellbooks]] as magic-users do. | Rangers who obtain magic-user spellcasting ability obtain and use [[spellbooks]] as magic-users do. | ||
- | Rangers cannot use [[moneychangers]] to bank funds and items, though they can still use them to convert coinage and other functions. Everything a ranger owns must fit on their person and mount, and this is the intended place where rangers keep their things.((PHB 25. The book does not explicitly say that they can't use moneychangers, | + | Rangers cannot use [[moneychanger]] to bank funds and items, though they can still use them to convert coinage and other functions. Everything a ranger owns must fit on their person and mount, and this is the intended place where rangers keep their things.((PHB 25. The book does not explicitly say that they can't use moneychangers, |
==== Paladin ==== | ==== Paladin ==== | ||
- | See [[Disease Immunity]]. | + | See [[Disease Immunity]] and [[Mount Quest]]. |
- | + | ||
- | Protection from evil applies to allies in the area. When positioning isn’t obvious, this is subject to DM fiat and when the situation is uncertain, the DM will favor the attackers. The protection from evil is also subject to being overcome by magic resistance. If a paladin moves toward a creature being kept out by the protection in such a way that the creature is now within the area of the paladin’s protection effect, the creature is no longer kept out by the effect. The -2 penalty to attacks and +2 to saves is not lost, however. The protection is re-instated if the paladin successfully disengages from melee (i.e. 1" or more). The paladin may lower this protection at will, though its state can only be switched once per round, during “segment zero.” | + | |
Paladins do not gain bonus spells from wisdom.((This is reinforced by PHB errata.)) | Paladins do not gain bonus spells from wisdom.((This is reinforced by PHB errata.)) | ||
- | |||
- | Paladins on their [[warhorse quest]] cannot become lost. While they are on this special quest, they can magically sense the direction of their goal and that of their home.< | ||
There is no way to get around the party alignment rules for paladins. The paladin will be able to determine that a character is undesirable by observation of behavior. Reverse //know alignment// will be insufficient for that reason, and because of the spell' | There is no way to get around the party alignment rules for paladins. The paladin will be able to determine that a character is undesirable by observation of behavior. Reverse //know alignment// will be insufficient for that reason, and because of the spell' | ||
+ | |||
+ | === Protection from evil === | ||
+ | |||
+ | Protection from evil applies to allies in the area. When positioning isn’t obvious, this is subject to DM fiat and when the situation is uncertain, the DM will favor the paladin' | ||
+ | |||
+ | If a paladin moves toward a creature being kept out by the protection in such a way that the creature is now within the area of the paladin’s protection effect, the creature is no longer kept out by the effect. The -2 penalty to attacks and +2 to saves is not lost, however. The protection is re-instated if the paladin successfully disengages from melee (i.e. 1" or more). The paladin may lower this protection at will, though its state can only be switched once per round, during “segment zero.” | ||
+ | |||
+ | The protection from evil is also subject to being overcome by magic resistance and //dispel magic//. Protection from evil which is by bypassed by MR or dispelled by //dispel magic// is restored 1 round later, and the paladin does not need to do anything for this to happen. When it is restored, the plusses and minuses granted are restored, though if creatures which are normally kept out by the ability are already within 1" of the paladin, the paladin must disengage in order to keep them out again. | ||
===== Magic-user ===== | ===== Magic-user ===== | ||
- | Magic-users have a 100% chance to know whatever starting spells are diced for during character creation. | + | Magic-users have a 100% chance to know whatever starting spells are diced for during character creation. |
Magic-users must have a [[spellbooks|spellbook]] for each level of spells they can cast. These blank spellbooks cost nothing to create; this is considered to be part of the character’s upkeep, though lost spellbooks have a cost to replace. Duplicate spellbooks can be created at the same cost. Normal spell-scribing cost (time and gold) applies. See [[spellbooks]] for more information, | Magic-users must have a [[spellbooks|spellbook]] for each level of spells they can cast. These blank spellbooks cost nothing to create; this is considered to be part of the character’s upkeep, though lost spellbooks have a cost to replace. Duplicate spellbooks can be created at the same cost. Normal spell-scribing cost (time and gold) applies. See [[spellbooks]] for more information, | ||
- | A [[familiars|familiar]] is always considered to be within 1" of its master until the master' | + | A [[familiar|familiar]] is always considered to be within 1" of its master until the master' |
==== Illusionist ==== | ==== Illusionist ==== | ||
Illusionists do not require //read magic// | Illusionists do not require //read magic// | ||
+ | |||
+ | === Magic item use === | ||
+ | |||
+ | You will notice that illusionist magic item restrictions are not specifically called out in Unearthed Arcana. This is because the intention was to write the tables to support upcoming classes in future publications, | ||
+ | |||
===== Thief ===== | ===== Thief ===== | ||
Line 52: | Line 65: | ||
==== Assassin ==== | ==== Assassin ==== | ||
+ | |||
+ | Assassins are thieves, and so can speak Thieves’ Cant. | ||
See [[Assassination]]. | See [[Assassination]]. | ||
Line 63: | Line 78: | ||
===== Bard ===== | ===== Bard ===== | ||
- | Bards are an exception to the regular | + | See [[Bard]]. |
- | + | ||
- | Only when a half-elf intends to become a bard can that race dual-class. This is a special exception. | + | |
- | + | ||
- | If a dual-classed character abandons plans to become a bard, or if they become ineligible due to surpassed prerequisite level limits, the player must select " | + | |
===== Multi-class and dual-class ===== | ===== Multi-class and dual-class ===== | ||
See [[Multi-class]] and [[Dual-class]]. | See [[Multi-class]] and [[Dual-class]]. |
Demon Idol acknowledges all copyrights, trademarks, and registered trademarks detailed on this page that do not belong to Demon Idol and makes no challenges to the ownership of said property rights.