This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
classes [2024-03-29 03:11] – [Bard] poems | classes [2024-12-22 15:53] (current) – external edit 127.0.0.1 | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 31: | Line 31: | ||
==== Paladin ==== | ==== Paladin ==== | ||
- | See [[Disease Immunity]]. | + | See [[Disease Immunity]] and [[Mount Quest]]. |
- | + | ||
- | Protection from evil applies to allies in the area. When positioning isn’t obvious, this is subject to DM fiat and when the situation is uncertain, the DM will favor the attackers. The protection from evil is also subject to being overcome by magic resistance. If a paladin moves toward a creature being kept out by the protection in such a way that the creature is now within the area of the paladin’s protection effect, the creature is no longer kept out by the effect. The -2 penalty to attacks and +2 to saves is not lost, however. The protection is re-instated if the paladin successfully disengages from melee (i.e. 1" or more). The paladin may lower this protection at will, though its state can only be switched once per round, during “segment zero.” | + | |
Paladins do not gain bonus spells from wisdom.((This is reinforced by PHB errata.)) | Paladins do not gain bonus spells from wisdom.((This is reinforced by PHB errata.)) | ||
- | |||
- | See [[Mount Quest]]. | ||
There is no way to get around the party alignment rules for paladins. The paladin will be able to determine that a character is undesirable by observation of behavior. Reverse //know alignment// will be insufficient for that reason, and because of the spell' | There is no way to get around the party alignment rules for paladins. The paladin will be able to determine that a character is undesirable by observation of behavior. Reverse //know alignment// will be insufficient for that reason, and because of the spell' | ||
+ | |||
+ | === Protection from evil === | ||
+ | |||
+ | Protection from evil applies to allies in the area. When positioning isn’t obvious, this is subject to DM fiat and when the situation is uncertain, the DM will favor the paladin' | ||
+ | |||
+ | If a paladin moves toward a creature being kept out by the protection in such a way that the creature is now within the area of the paladin’s protection effect, the creature is no longer kept out by the effect. The -2 penalty to attacks and +2 to saves is not lost, however. The protection is re-instated if the paladin successfully disengages from melee (i.e. 1" or more). The paladin may lower this protection at will, though its state can only be switched once per round, during “segment zero.” | ||
+ | |||
+ | The protection from evil is also subject to being overcome by magic resistance and //dispel magic//. Protection from evil which is by bypassed by MR or dispelled by //dispel magic// is restored 1 round later, and the paladin does not need to do anything for this to happen. When it is restored, the plusses and minuses granted are restored, though if creatures which are normally kept out by the ability are already within 1" of the paladin, the paladin must disengage in order to keep them out again. | ||
===== Magic-user ===== | ===== Magic-user ===== | ||
Line 51: | Line 55: | ||
Illusionists do not require //read magic// | Illusionists do not require //read magic// | ||
+ | |||
+ | === Magic item use === | ||
+ | |||
+ | You will notice that illusionist magic item restrictions are not specifically called out in Unearthed Arcana. This is because the intention was to write the tables to support upcoming classes in future publications, | ||
+ | |||
===== Thief ===== | ===== Thief ===== | ||
Line 56: | Line 65: | ||
==== Assassin ==== | ==== Assassin ==== | ||
+ | |||
+ | Assassins are thieves, and so can speak Thieves’ Cant. | ||
See [[Assassination]]. | See [[Assassination]]. | ||
Line 67: | Line 78: | ||
===== Bard ===== | ===== Bard ===== | ||
- | Bards are an exception to the regular | + | See [[Bard]]. |
- | + | ||
- | Only when a half-elf intends to become a bard can that race dual-class. This is a special exception. | + | |
- | + | ||
- | If a dual-classed character abandons plans to become a bard, or if they become ineligible due to surpassed prerequisite level limits, the player must select " | + | |
===== Multi-class and dual-class ===== | ===== Multi-class and dual-class ===== | ||
See [[Multi-class]] and [[Dual-class]]. | See [[Multi-class]] and [[Dual-class]]. |
Demon Idol acknowledges all copyrights, trademarks, and registered trademarks detailed on this page that do not belong to Demon Idol and makes no challenges to the ownership of said property rights.