This is an old revision of the document!
The character's original constitution limits the amount of times they can be restored to life by magical means of any kind, excepting a wish.1)
Characters who are restored to live by raise dead, resurrection or a resurrection effect such as a rod of resurrection lose 1 CON permanently.2) Since reincarnation changes ability scores, the CON loss is not considered, though the above rule regarding original CON is still relevant.
Being raised by a wish does not cause CON loss, nor does it count against times raised.
Method | Available to elves and half-orcs? | CON loss? | Counts against max raises? | Can bypass max raises? |
---|---|---|---|---|
Raise Dead | No | Yes | Yes | No |
Resurrection | No | Yes | Yes | No |
Rod of Resurrection | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
Wish | Yes | No | No | Yes |
Unless the ability explicitly says so, the creature does not change form upon death.3)
Whether a creature can be raised from the dead by raise dead or resurrection depends on its original form. For example, a human druid who died while shape changed into giant bat form could be raised, but an elven or half-orc who died while polymorphed into a human could not.4) When the creature is raised, it will remain in the form it died in (including wounds and poison, as normal, unless the means used to raise state otherwise).
Demon Idol acknowledges all copyrights, trademarks, and registered trademarks detailed on this page that do not belong to Demon Idol and makes no challenges to the ownership of said property rights.